1. Home
  2. Exchanges & reviews
  3. KuCoin review
Guide 02 · KuCoin review

KuCoin review: a big altcoin exchange with very little lari

Whether a Georgian resident can open a KuCoin account, what trading costs, how its EU licence and missing NBG registration affect you, and why you will probably need another route to get lari in and out.

7 min read Facts checked against official sources
  • US state licences
  • FCA-registered (UK)
  • Visa · Mastercard · Apple Pay

Short answer

Georgia is not on KuCoin's restricted list, so Georgian residents can sign up. Spot trading costs 0.10% maker / 0.10% taker at the base tier, and KuCoin EU holds a MiCA licence in Austria. But it is not registered with the National Bank of Georgia, and its GEL P2P market is thin, especially for buying USDT.

Key facts

  • 0.10%Base spot fee, maker and taker
  • 16GEL ads buying USDT in our snapshot
  • 1GEL ad selling USDT (Credo only)
  • NoNBG VASP registration

Next step

Ready when you are

Create free account

US state money-transmitter licences · FCA-registered in the UK · since 2013

Man holding a bank card and smartphone, illustrating a KuCoin exchange review for users in Georgia

KuCoin is the exchange people in Georgia usually discover when they chase a small-cap token that isn’t on Bybit or Binance yet. It lists a long tail of altcoins, it lets Georgian residents sign up, and its base fee is the industry-standard 0.10%. What it doesn’t have is much lari. If you expect to fund your account from a TBC or Bank of Georgia card and cash out the same way, read the P2P section below before you sign up.

This review covers what matters from Georgia specifically: whether you are allowed in, which licences KuCoin holds and which it doesn’t, the real state of its GEL market, fees, and how to move money in and out. For a wider comparison, see our guide to crypto exchanges in Georgia.

Can you use KuCoin from Georgia?

Yes. KuCoin’s terms of use (Article 17(5)) list the jurisdictions where it does not serve customers: the USA and its territories, Singapore, mainland China and Hong Kong, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Ontario and British Columbia in Canada, France, the Netherlands, and the occupied Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions of Ukraine.

Georgia is not there. It is worth noticing that two neighbouring post-Soviet markets, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan, are — a reminder that these lists change, and that a country can be removed from service with little notice. The global agreement is governed by Turks and Caicos law, with disputes going to arbitration at the Singapore International Arbitration Centre. That is a long way from a Georgian court.

Verification is mandatory for real use. KuCoin did not publish its verification tiers on the pages we could read, but even its P2P ads show the requirement: one GEL ad in our snapshot was limited to users with KYC level 2.

Two practical tips before you deposit anything. Sign up only by typing kucoin.com yourself rather than following a link from a Telegram channel, because look-alike exchange domains are a common trap. And switch on two-factor authentication before your first deposit, not after. If KuCoin ever adds Georgia to its restricted list, verified users would normally be asked to withdraw, which is much easier if your wallet addresses are already set up and tested.

Licences: an EU authorisation, nothing in Georgia

RegisterKuCoin status
NBG VASP register (Georgia)Not registered
ESMA MiCA register (EU)KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH, Austria FMA, authorised 27.11.2025
VARA (Dubai)Not listed
Governing law of global termsTurks and Caicos

The MiCA authorisation is real and checkable on the ESMA register, but it belongs to KuCoin’s Austrian company, which serves customers in the European Economic Area through kucoin.eu. A Georgian resident on kucoin.com is a customer of the global platform, not of the EU entity.

The National Bank of Georgia has required registration for anyone providing virtual-asset services in Georgia since 1 July 2023, and on 7 October 2025 it warned that unregistered providers may not offer these services here. The NBG did not name exchanges or explain how that applies to foreign platforms serving Georgians remotely. What is clear is that the NBG does not supervise KuCoin, so a dispute with KuCoin is not something the Georgian regulator can help with. Only two global exchanges, Bybit Georgia and WhiteBIT Georgia, are on the register — our list of NBG-registered exchanges shows the rest.

The GEL P2P market is thin

KuCoin has no direct lari bank deposits. Like OKX and Binance, it relies on P2PP2PPeer-to-peer: you buy crypto from another person and pay them directly (e.g. by TBC or Bank of Georgia transfer) while the platform holds their coins in escrow. for lari: you trade USDT with another user and the lari moves between your bank accounts.

In our check, we pulled KuCoin’s live GEL ads:

DirectionAdsPayment methods named
You sell USDT for lari16TBC (13), Bank of Georgia (13), “bank” (8), bank transfer (6), Liberty (4)
You buy USDT with lari1Credo Bank only

Compare that with OKX, which had 113 ads buying USDT and 30 selling, or Bybit with 218 and 117. On KuCoin, buying USDT with lari depends on one advertiser being online, with one bank. Selling is possible but with a fraction of the choice.

There is a second warning in those ads. Several of the KuCoin GEL buyers wrote in their remarks that the sender is a third party — that is, the lari would come from someone other than the verified buyer. That is precisely the kind of transfer that Georgian banks question and sometimes freeze, and it is a common pattern in P2P fraud. Our P2P guide explains why you should only accept money from the account holder named in the order.

Laptop with a crypto trading dashboard, illustrating KuCoin's spot market for altcoins
KuCoin's strength is its spot market for altcoins; its lari market is the weak spot for Georgian users.

Fees on KuCoin

KuCoin’s reference spot fee is 0.1% for makers and 0.1% for takers. Two qualifications matter:

  • Not every pair is 0.1%. KuCoin says the reference rate “does not apply to some of the trading pairs”. Its own fee breakdown places coins in classes, and the less liquid Class B and Class C coins carry higher fees. Since small altcoins are the main reason to use KuCoin, check the fee shown on the order screen.
  • KCS discount. Paying fees with KuCoin’s own token, KCS, gives a discount, but the percentage was not stated on the pages we checked.

The difference between a maker and a takerMaker / taker feeMakers place orders that wait in the book; takers fill existing orders instantly. Takers usually pay slightly more. is simple: a limit order that waits in the book is a maker order, a market order that fills immediately is a taker order. OKX’s base maker fee of 0.08% is slightly lower; Bybit, WhiteBIT and Bitget are the same 0.10% / 0.10%.

Withdrawals to an external wallet cost a network feeNetwork feeThe fee paid to the blockchain itself to process a transfer (also called gas). It goes to miners/validators, not to the exchange. that depends on the coin. For USDT, TRC-20 is the network most Georgian venues accept, including Cryptomat ATMs and Cryptal.

Buying with a card and other ways in

KuCoin’s “buy crypto” card option is handled by third-party payment providers rather than by KuCoin itself. We could not confirm which of those providers accept a Georgian-issued Visa or Mastercard, whether Apple Pay or Google Pay work for Georgian users, or what the total cost would be. Because the price is set by the provider, look for the provider’s name and the final amount of crypto on the confirmation screen before you pay. A Georgian lari card will usually be charged in USD or EUR, so your bank’s conversion rate applies on top.

In practice, Georgians who use KuCoin rarely fund it directly. A more common route is to buy USDT elsewhere — at an NBG-registered exchange, a Cryptomat, through Bybit or OKX P2P, or with a card from a provider such as CEX.IO (Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, US money-transmitter licences under NMLS 1804170) — and then send it to KuCoin over TRC-20. Our guide to buying crypto with a card in Georgia compares the card options.

Need USDT to send to KuCoin?Card purchases are in USD or EUR; your Georgian bank converts from lari.

Buy USDT

Cashing out and Pi Network

Getting lari back from KuCoin means P2P with TBC, Bank of Georgia or Liberty — when there are buyers online — or moving your coins to another exchange with a deeper GEL book. Many users simply withdraw USDT to OKX or Bybit and sell there. Our guide to selling USDT for lari compares the routes, including WhiteBIT’s direct GEL withdrawals to TBC Bank and Hashbank.

If you hold Pi, note that KuCoin is not on Pi Network’s official KYB list of exchanges. Pi advises extreme caution with any business that isn’t on that list. OKX, Kraken, Bitget, Gate and MEXC are; see our Pi Coin guide.

On tax: individuals in Georgia generally pay no personal income tax on gains from selling crypto, because Public Decision No. 201 treats that income as not Georgian-sourced. Crypto paid as salary is a different matter, and expats may owe tax at home. The crypto tax guide sets out the conditions.

How KuCoin compares

The table below compares the eight exchanges Georgians use most. Use it to see where KuCoin sits on licensing and lari support.

ExchangeLari & Georgian banksWays to payFeesWebsite
CEX.IONot NBG-registeredUS NMLS 1804170 + state MTLs, UK FCA-registered (FRN 1007192); operating since 2013
Lari & Georgian banksNo GEL wallet; a Georgian card is charged in USD/EUR
Ways to payVisa, Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay, SWIFT
FeesCard payout 0.49–4.99% + service fee; SWIFT out 0.3% + $25
BybitNBG 0019-9404Local entity Bybit Georgia Limited, NBG-registered since 24.10.2024
Lari & Georgian banksGEL P2P with BoG, TBC, Credo, Liberty; powers TBC in-app crypto
Ways to payP2P, cards, Bybit Card (Mastercard) for residents
FeesSpot 0.10% maker / 0.10% taker
WhiteBITNBG 0007-9404Whitebit Georgia LLC, NBG-registered since 11.04.2024
Lari & Georgian banksDirect GEL deposits/withdrawals via TBC Bank and Hashbank
Ways to payGEL bank rails, PayBox terminal top-ups, cards
FeesSpot 0.10% maker / 0.10% taker
BinanceNot NBG-registeredNot on the NBG VASP register; licensed in Dubai (VARA)
Lari & Georgian banksDeepest GEL P2P: BoG, TBC, Liberty, Credo, Basisbank, Terabank, Hashbank
Ways to payP2P, Visa/Mastercard
FeesSpot 0.10% / 0.10% (0.075% paying in BNB)
OKXNot NBG-registeredLists Pi Network (PI); MiCA licence in Malta
Lari & Georgian banksGEL P2P with BoG, TBC, Liberty, Credo, Cartu, Paysera
Ways to payP2P, cards via partners
FeesSpot 0.08% maker / 0.10% taker
KrakenNot NBG-registeredGeorgia not on its restricted list; lists PI
Lari & Georgian banksNo GEL; fund with USD/EUR wire or card
Ways to paySWIFT, debit card
FeesDebit card buy $0.25 + 3.75%
Website kraken.com
KuCoinNot NBG-registeredGeorgia not restricted in its terms; MiCA licence in Austria
Lari & Georgian banksThin GEL P2P (TBC, BoG, Liberty, Credo)
Ways to payP2P, cards via third-party providers
FeesSpot 0.10% maker / 0.10% taker
BitgetNot NBG-registeredLists PI; Georgia not on its prohibited list
Lari & Georgian banksSmall GEL P2P (BoG, TBC, Credo, Liberty, Basisbank)
Ways to payP2P, cards via partners
FeesSpot 0.10% / 0.10% (−20% paying in BGB)
Website bitget.com

Verdict: who KuCoin is for

KuCoin makes sense for a Georgian user who already holds USDT and wants a specific altcoin that the bigger venues haven’t listed, and who is comfortable trading on a platform that the NBG does not supervise. Its 0.10% base fee is standard, and its EU authorisation shows it has passed a serious licensing process somewhere.

It is the wrong choice as your main lari on-ramp or off-ramp. One P2P ad to buy USDT, with one bank, is not a market. For lari, use an NBG-registered exchange, OKX or Bybit P2P, or the local options in our Batumi guide and Tbilisi guide. And as with any exchange, keep only trading money on KuCoin; move the rest to a wallet you control, using our crypto wallet guide.

Questions people ask

Is KuCoin available in Georgia?

Yes. KuCoin's terms of use list restricted jurisdictions in Article 17(5): the USA and its territories, Singapore, mainland China and Hong Kong, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Ontario and British Columbia, France, the Netherlands, and occupied regions of Ukraine. Georgia is not on that list, so Georgian residents can open an account and complete verification.

Is KuCoin licensed in Georgia?

No. KuCoin is not on the National Bank of Georgia's register of virtual asset service providers. Its MiCA authorisation belongs to KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH in Austria and covers EEA customers, not Georgia. KuCoin is also not on the Dubai VARA register. The global KuCoin agreement is governed by Turks and Caicos law.

Can I buy USDT with lari on KuCoin?

Technically yes, practically barely. When we checked KuCoin's GEL P2P market there was only one ad selling USDT for lari, and it accepted Credo Bank only. Sixteen ads were buying USDT for lari, mostly via TBC and Bank of Georgia. To buy USDT with lari, Bybit, Binance or OKX P2P, or a local NBG-registered exchange, are far more practical.

What are KuCoin's trading fees?

KuCoin's reference spot rate is 0.1% for makers and 0.1% for takers. KuCoin notes that this does not apply to all pairs: coins it classes as B or C carry higher fees. A discount for paying fees in KCS exists, but the percentage was not stated on the pages we checked.

Can I buy crypto on KuCoin with a Georgian bank card?

KuCoin's card purchases run through third-party payment providers rather than KuCoin itself, and we could not confirm which providers accept a Georgian Visa or Mastercard, or what they charge. Check the provider name and the total price on the confirmation screen before paying, and compare it with the card options in our card-buying guide.

Ready to buy your first crypto?

Open an account with a long-running exchange that holds US state money-transmitter licences and a UK FCA registration. Card purchases with Visa or Mastercard issued by Georgian banks.

US state money-transmitter licences · FCA-registered in the UK · since 2013

Get started